AEA - Appleton Education Association
Awards & Recognition Life Long Learning
Current News
About AEA
Parent Pages
Internet Resources
Awards & Recognition

Site Contents

Members Only


Welcome to our Awards and Recognition section. This section is dedicated to members who have been recognized by their colleagues or other organizations for their outstanding commitment to the teaching profession.  

Have you or a colleague been presented with an award or been recognized for your achievements? Please let us know so that we can include them in this section!

Annual Awards:
NEA -Saturn/UAW Partnership Awards
at the Peabody Hotel, Thursday, June 29 2006 in Orlando, Florida. Appleton's Teacher Induction Program, Appleton Wisconsin.

Left to right are: UAW Region 8 representative Ray Curry, Lee Allinger, NEA President Reg Weaver, Noelle Mudrak and Manager Regional Sales & Marketing, Saturn Southeast Region Jim Craner. RA Today/Rick Runion



Excellence in Science Teaching
Award Winners Nancy Aufderheide (second from the left) and Greg Franzen (on the right).


Kohl Education Foundation
Award Winners
The Appleton teaching excellence fellowship winners are Jean Horst (Edison), Barbara Bauer (Highlands), Kara Pezzi (East) and Patricia Milheiser (Madison). The winners were recognized on April 8 in Portage and appear in the photo on the right with Herb Kohl. From left to right: Jean Horst, Barbara Bauer, Herb Kohl, Kara Pezzi and Patricia Milheiser.


National Board Certifications
Congratulations to Mary Powell, Carla A. Sexton, Jean E. Seitz, Kara A. Pezzi, Kim M. Barlament,   and Sandra J. Vandervelden for receiving National Board Certification! 

Mary Powell
Early Childhood Generalist
Carla Sexton
Carla A. Sexton
Early Childhood Generalist
Jeanne Seitz
Jean E. Seitz
Early Childhood Generalist
Kara Pezzi
Kara A. Pezzi
Adolescent and Young Adulthood Science

Sandra J. Vandervelden
with State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster (left) and First Lady Jessica Doyle (right)


Wisconsin State Reading Association Congratulates
Bonnie Pozolinski and Tim Clark
Edna Ferber Elementary School

Bonnie and Tim received a Pat Bricker Research Award on Thursday, February 4, 2005 at the Awards Reception of the Wisconsin State Reading Association Convention held in Milwaukee.


Ron Hanson Inducted into the UW-Oshkosh Sports Hall-of-Fame
Ron Hanson captured three NAIA and three WIAC event championships as a member of the Titan men's gymnastics tem from 1973-73. He also performed to a total of five NCAA Division III All-America awards and four NAIA All-America medals.

Ron Hanson was a member of the national title team, its first in school history in 1973.


Bruce Smith Recognized by WSST
Bruce Smith has received the Ron Gibbs Award from The Wisconsin Society of Science Teachers (WSST). This award may be given annually to honor a person who has made outstanding contributions in science education over a long and distinguished career in Wisconsin. This is WSST's most prestigious award.


Pat Bricker Research Award Winners
Mary Powell, Lori Cash, Kristi Wilson, Heather Steineke, and Marlene Angevine received the Pat Bricker Research Award for their "Literature Circles in Science" Project. This award was presented to them by the
Wisconsin State Reading Association in 2003.

Celebrate Literacy Award Winner Announced
In 2003, Luella Winckler was presented with the Celebrate Literacy Award from the
Wisconsin State Reading Association.

Special Service Award Given to Jeff Carpenter
In 2002, Jeff Carpenter was presented the Special Service Award for the Statewide Battle of The Books Program by the
Wisconsin Educational Media Association 

Appleton Education Association Phone: 920.731.1369 Email: